Understanding Islam: 5 Pillars Of Islam And Definition

5 Pillars Of Islam And DefinitionThey’re the framework of the Muslim life 5 Pillars Of Islam: faith, prayer, zakat, fast, and the pilgrimage to Makkah for those that are able.

1. Faith
There is no god worthy of worship except God and Muhammad is His messenger. This statement is called the Shahadat. In Arabic, the first part is La Ilaha Illallah – ‘there isn’t any God except Allah’; Allah (god) can refer to anything which we are tempted to place rather than God – wealth, power, and so forth. Then comes Ill-Allah: ‘except God’, the source of Creation. The following element of the Shahada is Muhammadun Rasulullah: ‘Muhammad is the messenger of God.’

2. Prayer
Salat is the name for the obligatory prayers that are performed five times daily, and are a direct link between the worshipper and God. There’s not any hierarchical authority in Islam, and no priests, so that the prayers are led by a learned man who knows the Quran, chosen by the tribe.

Prayers are said at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset and nightfall, and so determine the rhythm of the whole moment. Though it’s preferable to worship together in a mosque, a Muslim may pray almost anywhere, like in fields, offices, and factories.

3. Zakat
Among the main principles of Islam is that all things belong to God, and that wealth is therefore held by human beings in trust. The word zakat means both ‘purification’ and ‘expansion’.

For many purposes, this involves the payment each year of two and a half percent of one’s funding.

Although this term can be translated as ‘voluntary charity’ it has a broader significance. The Prophet said ‘even meeting your brother with a cheerful face is charity.’

The Prophet said: ‘Charity is a necessity for every Muslim. ‘ He was asked: ‘What if a person has nothing?’ The Prophet replied: ‘He should work with his own hands for his benefit and then give something out of such earnings in charity.’ The Companions asked: ‘What if he is not able to work?’ The Prophet said: ‘He should help poor and needy persons.’ The Companions further asked ‘What if he can’t do even that?’ The Prophet said ‘He should urge others to do good.’ The Companions said ‘What if he lacks that also?’ The Prophet said ‘He should check himself from doing evil. That is also charity.’

4. Fasting
Each year in the month of Ramadan, all Muslims fast from first light until sundown, abstaining from food, drink, and sexual relations. Those people that are sick, elderly, or on a journey, and women that are pregnant or nursing are allowed to break the fast and make up an equal number of times later in the year. If they’re physically not able to do so, they need to feed a needy person for each day missed. Children start to fast (and to observe the prayer) from puberty, although many starts earlier.

Even though the fast is most beneficial to the health, it’s regarded principally as a method of self-purification. By cutting oneself off from worldly comforts, even for a brief while, a fasting person gains true sympathy with those who go hungry in addition to growth in your spiritual life.

5. Pilgrimage (Hajj)
The yearly pilgrimage to Makkah – the Hajj – is an obligation only for people that are physically and financially able to do it. But about two million people go to Makkah each year from every corner of the globe providing a special chance for those of different nations to meet one another. Although Makkah is always filled with people, the annual Hajj begins in the twelfth month of the Islamic year (which is lunar, not solar, so that Hajj and Ramadan fall sometimes in summer, sometimes in winter. Pilgrims wear special clothes: simple garments which strip away differences of character and culture so that all stand equal before Allah.

The ceremonies of the Hajj, which are of from Prophet Ibrahim include circling the Ka’ba seven days, and going seven times between the mountains of Safa and Marwa as did Hagar during her search for water. Then the pilgrims stand together on the broad plain of Arafa and join in prayers for God’s forgiveness, in what is usually regarded as a preview of the last Judgment.

In previous eras, the Hajj was an arduous undertaking. Today, however, Saudi Arabia provides millions of people using water, modern transport, and the numerous up-to-date wellness facilities.

The close of the Hajj is marked by a festival, the Eid al-Adha, that will be celebrated with prayers and the exchange of gifts in Muslim communities everywhere. This, and the Eid al-Fitr, a feast-day a the conclusion of Ramadan, are the main festivals of the Muslim calendar.

That’s all about 5 Pillars Of Islam And Definition. Hopefully Allah guide us.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *